Inspiring the masses, one post at a time.

Song of the Day – Monday 6/28/2010 Danger Mouse and Sparklehorse Present: Dark Night of the Soul (Feat Jason Lytle) June 28, 2010

For the past year, MizMuze has been hearing about the Danger Mouse/Sparklehorse/David Lynch collaboration, Dark Night of the Soul.  The album now has an official release date of July 13, 2010. 

The album title comes from a metaphor used to describe a phase in a person’s spiritual life marked by a sense of loneliness and desolation.  The DNOTS album has had such a journey…not only has Danger Mouse been in a dispute with record label EMI for the past year (which is why the album is just coming out now), but two of the contributors, Mark Linkus of Sparklehorse and Vic Chesnutt took their lives since the making of the album. 

Other contributors include: James Mercer of The Shins, The Flaming Lips, Gruff Rhys of Super Furry Animals, Jason Lytle of Grandaddy, Julian Casablancas of The Strokes, Frank Black of the Pixies, Iggy Pop, Nina Persson of The Cardigans, Suzanne Vega, David Lynch, and Scott Spillane of Neutral Milk Hotel and The Gerbils. 

While the album was on hold, David Lynch released 5000 copies of his 100+ page book of photos which is described as a visual narrative to the DNOTS music.  Now that the album is finally being released, a “Deluxe” version of the album will contain a 48-page photo book, a poster, postcards, two LPs, a CD and a bonus instrumental CD.           

You can stream the entire album at NPR, until the album is released on 7/13/10:


Danger Mouse & Sparklehorse – Everytime I’m With You (feat. Jason Lytle)



Song of the Day – Friday 3/12/2010 Broken Bells (SXSW) March 12, 2010

The Shins frontman, James Mercer and artist/producer Brian Burton aka Danger Mouse, have joined forces to create the “melodic, but experimental” indie rock band, Broken Bells.  Broken Bells features Mercer on vocals, guitars and bass while Danger Mouse, plays organ, drums, piano, synths and bass…Broken Bells will perform opening night at SXSW…

Broken Bells – The High Road

Broken Bells’ self-titled album was released on 3/9/2010…the band are scheduled to announce a full tour after SXSW…